W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > uri@w3.org > September 2003

Re: windows example not so weird [was: Re: Fwd: I-D ACTION:draft-hoffman-rfc1738bis-00.txt]

From: John Cowan <cowan@mercury.ccil.org>
Date: Wed, 3 Sep 2003 07:38:16 -0400
To: Israel Viente <israel_viente@il.vio.com>
Cc: "Paul Hoffman / VPNC (by way of Martin Duerst <duerst@w3.org>)" <paul.hoffman@vpnc.org>, uri@w3.org, Al Gilman <asgilman@iamdigex.net>
Message-ID: <20030903113816.GB16786@mercury.ccil.org>

Israel Viente scripsit:

> 1. What's the syntax for translating UNC paths ?
> \\hostname\share\file.pdf -->
> file://hostname/share/file.pdf

This is IE style.  Netscape browsers don't accept this syntax,
and want file:////hostname/share/file.pdf.

-- 
In politics, obedience and support      John Cowan <jcowan@reutershealth.com>
are the same thing.  --Hannah Arendt    http://www.ccil.org/~cowan
Received on Wednesday, 3 September 2003 07:39:27 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:25:06 UTC