W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > January 2010

Re: Requirements for a possible "RDF 2.0"

From: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 18 Jan 2010 19:07:33 +0100
Message-ID: <4B54A365.6050101@w3.org>
To: Danny Ayers <danny.ayers@gmail.com>
CC: Harry Halpin <hhalpin@ibiblio.org>, Pat Hayes <phayes@ihmc.us>, Kjetil Kjernsmo <kjetil@kjernsmo.net>, semantic-web@w3.org
See also, as an additional work:

http://forge.morfeo-project.org/wiki_en/index.php/Units_of_measurement_ontology

http://idi.fundacionctic.org/muo/muo-vocab.html

Ivan


On 2010-1-18 18:57 , Danny Ayers wrote:
> 2010/1/18 Harry Halpin <hhalpin@ibiblio.org>:
> 
>> ex:London ex:hasTemp "10" AND "10 rdf:value ex:Celsius"
> 
> Now is probably a good time to mention timbl's Design Issue re.
> "Interpretation Properties" :
> 
>    http://www.w3.org/DesignIssues/InterpretationProperties.html
> 
> and the ESW Wiki page which has unit-specific examples:
> 
>    http://esw.w3.org/topic/InterpretationProperties
> 
> (note in particular the "train wreck" mentioned there - an easy trap
> to fall into)
> 
> 
> for Harry's example, the corresponding statement would be:
> 
> ex:London ex:celsius "10"
> 
> timbl's piece also has a link to
> 
> a simple ontology for units of measure:
> 
>    http://www.w3.org/2007/ont/unit
> 
> Cheers,
> Danny.
> 
> 
> 
> 

-- 

Ivan Herman, W3C Semantic Web Activity Lead
Home: http://www.w3.org/People/Ivan/
mobile: +31-641044153
PGP Key: http://www.ivan-herman.net/pgpkey.html
FOAF   : http://www.ivan-herman.net/foaf.rdf
vCard  : http://www.ivan-herman.net/HermanIvan.vcf


Received on Monday, 18 January 2010 18:06:40 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:48:05 UTC