W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-tracking@w3.org > July 2013

Re: Issue for discussion on Wed - User Agent Compliance

From: Nicholas Doty <npdoty@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 16 Jul 2013 18:20:45 -0400
Cc: David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Alan Chapell <achapell@chapellassociates.com>, public-tracking@w3.org, Sid Stamm <sid@mozilla.com>, Justin Brookman <jbrookman@cdt.org>
Message-Id: <9529A6A1-75C8-4FE0-BEC2-2659C71702C7@w3.org>
To: Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org>
On Jul 16, 2013, at 12:24 PM, Rigo Wenning <rigo@w3.org> wrote:

> David, 
> 
> the issue is that you don't want the browser or one of the search bars 
> or tools to phone home. This was pretty clear in HTML 4. In HTML5 the 
> distinction between browser-search-bar phoning home and widget ABC 
> phoning home and a web page tracking starts to blur. But what they all 
> do is sending browser history information or uniqueID. All other stuff 
> is mainly harmless. 
> 
> What Issue is this attached to and if there is none, we should create 
> one. 

Currently we have ISSUE-205: user agent compliance requirements on the Compliance June product which tracks a couple of change proposals around the topic. 

I'm uncertain at this point whether this is actually a proposal about UA compliance (are browsers not supposed to remember or sync a list of open tabs?) or a requirement on other software (routers, cloud-based UAs, operating systems) that sees or sends along an HTTP request from tracking, or just a re-statement that Web sites operated by companies that produced the user's web browser are third parties when in a third-party context. So it's possible we would need a separate ISSUE, but for now we can use 205.

Thanks,
Nick
Received on Tuesday, 16 July 2013 22:20:55 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:39:53 UTC