W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > May 2014

Re: Propose an HL7 work group on RDF for Semantic Interoperability?

From: David Booth <david@dbooth.org>
Date: Tue, 13 May 2014 20:32:45 -0400
Message-ID: <5372B9AD.2070006@dbooth.org>
To: Michel Dumontier <michel.dumontier@gmail.com>
CC: Anthony Mallia <amallia@edmondsci.com>, "Prud'hommeaux, Eric" <eric@w3.org>, Claude Nanjo <cnanjo@cognitivemedicine.com>, "Richards, Rafael M. (Rafael.Richards@va.gov)" <Rafael.Richards@va.gov>, w3c semweb HCLS <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>
Hi Michel,

Thanks for your comments.  There definitely will need to be more 
specific deliverables identified at some point.  I guess I'm thinking of 
it initially as an umbrella under which various specific milestones and 
deliverables will be identified and pursued as the group prioritizes its 
work.  The intent of the draft is to explicitly call out the overall 
goal of using RDF to achieve semantic interoperability, under which many 
sub-goals would need to be pursued along the say.  The other HL7 
charters I read were all quite short -- one or two pages -- but maybe it 
would be good to include a bit more detail?

David


On 05/13/2014 04:58 PM, Michel Dumontier wrote:
> David,
>    I'm excited about the prospect, but I think the work group may be a
> bit too broad without further refinement. I'd like to see a charter
> articulated with a more specific focus, and identifying milestones that
> deliver concrete outcomes (specifications, implementations, reports)
> around targeted areas of urgent need.
>   More importantly, I'd like to know what the uptake will be (e.g. who
> will implement this), and how plans on using it.
>
> Cheers,
>
> m.
>
>
> Michel Dumontier
> Associate Professor of Medicine (Biomedical Informatics), Stanford
> University
> Chair, W3C Semantic Web for Health Care and the Life Sciences Interest Group
> http://dumontierlab.com
>
>
> On Tue, May 13, 2014 at 7:54 AM, David Booth <david@dbooth.org
> <mailto:david@dbooth.org>> wrote:
>
>     I was at the HL7 meetings last week, and the idea arose of proposing
>     an HL7 work group on RDF for Semantic Interoperability.  I took the
>     initiative to draft a possible charter.  I meant to send it out
>     earlier in case folks would like to discuss the idea on our 11:00am
>     Eastern HCLS call today.  Attached is what I've drafted.  I'll join
>     the call and see if anyone wants to discuss it.  Sorry for the late
>     notice.
>
>     Zakim (W3C teleconference bridge).
>     Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 <tel:%2B1.617.761.6200> (Cambridge, MA)
>     VoIP address: sip:zakim@voip.w3.org <mailto:sip%3Azakim@voip.w3.org>
>     Participant Access Code: 4257 ("HCLS")
>     IRC: irc.w3.org <http://irc.w3.org> port 6665 channel #HCLS
>
>     Thanks,
>     David
>
>
Received on Wednesday, 14 May 2014 00:33:17 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:21:39 UTC