W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > July to September 2001

Versions being deleted during a MERGE...

From: Peter Raymond <Peter.Raymond@merant.com>
Date: Sun, 19 Aug 2001 13:21:51 +0100
Message-ID: <3B7FAF5F.ABE29832@merant.com>
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Hi,

I just noticed a potential problem with versions being used for a merge
operation
being deleted during the merge.

Section 11 says a checked-out resource has a DAV:merge-set identifying
versions
to be merged.  DELETE (section 11.5) says it will remove entries from
the
merge-set.  Shouldn't the server disallow the DELETE, someone somewhere
is in the
middle of a merge using this version, also there would be a race
condition if someone
deletes the version while the client is processing the DAV:merge-set of
a checked-out
resource.

Regards,
Peter Raymond - MERANT
Received on Sunday, 19 August 2001 08:23:32 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:42 GMT