W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > July to September 2001

Re: Versions being deleted during a MERGE...

From: Jim Amsden <jamsden@us.ibm.com>
Date: Mon, 20 Aug 2001 10:57:15 -0400
To: ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Message-ID: <OF9BA24262.DA3F6BBE-ON85256AAE.005172EE@raleigh.ibm.com>
Peter,
The delete from the merge-set is deleting the version URL from the 
merge-set, not deleting the version itself. This just indicates the user 
is done doing the merge from that entry.





Peter Raymond <Peter.Raymond@merant.com>
Sent by: ietf-dav-versioning-request@w3.org
08/19/2001 08:21 AM

 
        To:     ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
        cc: 
        Subject:        Versions being deleted during a MERGE...

 

Hi,

I just noticed a potential problem with versions being used for a merge
operation
being deleted during the merge.

Section 11 says a checked-out resource has a DAV:merge-set identifying
versions
to be merged.  DELETE (section 11.5) says it will remove entries from
the
merge-set.  Shouldn't the server disallow the DELETE, someone somewhere
is in the
middle of a merge using this version, also there would be a race
condition if someone
deletes the version while the client is processing the DAV:merge-set of
a checked-out
resource.

Regards,
Peter Raymond - MERANT
Received on Monday, 20 August 2001 10:57:54 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:42 GMT