W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > November 2016

Re: [css-grid] Remaining Grid Layout issues

From: Mats Palmgren <mats@mozilla.com>
Date: Wed, 23 Nov 2016 21:19:35 +0100
To: Manuel Rego Casasnovas <rego@igalia.com>, www-style@w3.org
Cc: fantasai <fantasai@inkedblade.net>, Tab Atkins jr <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Rossen Atanassov <Rossen.Atanassov@microsoft.com>, Daniel Holbert <dholbert@mozilla.com>, Sergio Villar Senin <svillar@igalia.com>, Javier Fernandez <jfernandez@igalia.com>
Message-ID: <1c16ac66-b1ae-9002-2e55-3be4062dbc0d@mozilla.com>
On 11/21/2016 05:41 PM, Manuel Rego Casasnovas wrote:
 > 1) Alignment and shipment
 > So it seems their current plan is to ship the whole thing.

We shared our plans and reasoning about that, on this list, long
before our intent-to-ship:
https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-style/2016Oct/0011.html

IIUC, you're now implementing baseline alignment in Chrome too
so I don't understand what the fuss is about here...

 > 2) Implied minimum size of grid items

Frankly, it seems a tad late to make spec changes in these areas
now that the Grid spec is in CR, and after two implementors have
sent an Intent-to-ship.

As far as I know, Firefox is implementing what the specs say
regarding Implied Minimum Size and clamping/stretching, including
the ratio-preserving stretching for 'normal' that the CSSWG
resolved here:
https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-style/2016Oct/0068.html
(that's not in any spec yet, but that's just a formality IMO)

Can you clarify what spec changes you're suggesting *exactly*?

 > 3) Baseline alignment
 > Firefox has already implemented baseline alignment a while ago,

Yes, but note that we also have a few bugs in baseline alignment.
We intend to fix those before release.


/Mats
Received on Wednesday, 23 November 2016 20:20:11 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 25 March 2022 10:09:05 UTC