W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > January 2015

RE: [naming][css-flexbox] flex-basis: <magic>

From: Greg Whitworth <gwhit@microsoft.com>
Date: Tue, 20 Jan 2015 22:25:22 +0000
To: fantasai <fantasai.lists@inkedblade.net>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>, Rossen Atanassov <Rossen.Atanassov@microsoft.com>, "Daniel Holbert" <dholbert@mozilla.com>, Chris Mills <cmills@opera.com>, Bruce Lawson <brucel@opera.com>, Bruno Racineux <bruno@hexanet.net>, Shane Hudson <shane@shanehudson.net>, Yannick Lohse <contact@yannick-lohse.fr>
Message-ID: <BN3PR0301MB0868DBBCE2A8C67550787FD3A44B0@BN3PR0301MB0868.namprd03.prod.outlook.com>
> Hi everyone,
> We resolved on switching 'flex-basis: auto' back to its original definition and adding a new keyword to explicitly request the default automagic.
> But, we didn't actually close on what that new keyword would be.

> Candidates thus far are
>   * content
>   * content-size
>   * auto-content
>   * <insert-your-suggestion-here>

> Given the existence of min-content, max-content, and fit-content, (which don't have a -size suffix), I'm somewhat disinclined to go with content-size. 
> Otherwise, the questions are

>    a) Has anyone implemented this new keyword yet? If so, as what keyword?
>    b) Other opinions on what the keyword should be?

>  ~fantasai

Yes, we have implemented the 'content' keyword per the current ED. 

Received on Tuesday, 20 January 2015 22:25:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:51:56 UTC