W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webappsec@w3.org > September 2015

Re: Split the `w3c/webappsec` respository?

From: Frederik Braun <fbraun@mozilla.com>
Date: Tue, 8 Sep 2015 10:42:28 +0200
To: Mike West <mkwst@google.com>, "public-webappsec@w3.org" <public-webappsec@w3.org>
Cc: Brad Hill <hillbrad@gmail.com>, Wendy Seltzer <wseltzer@w3.org>, Dan Veditz <dveditz@mozilla.com>, Francois Marier <francois@mozilla.com>, Joel Weinberger <jww@google.com>, Devdatta Akhawe <dev@dropbox.com>, Jochen Eisinger <eisinger@google.com>, David Ross <drx@google.com>, Yan Zhu <yan@eff.org>, Deian Stefan <deian@cs.stanford.edu>
Message-ID: <55EE9F74.40409@mozilla.com>
+1 on splitting:

Travis-ci currently builds a few specs but integrates in pull requests
for unrelated specifications. I also got emails from travis-ci that
another spec's build tests were (still) broken after pushing my commits.

I'm also hoping to unsubscribe GitHub notifications for a few
specifications under webappsec, which is currently impossible as
notifications are repo-wide.

I am doing this under the assumption that contentious issues will be
raised on the list and things that remain solely on GitHub are mostly
editorial. (Mike has told me there were issues that violate this
assumption, but I don't think everyone within this working group should
have to monitor both. We can discuss this in another thread, thuogh)



On 08.09.2015 10:33, Mike West wrote:
> In https://twitter.com/mikewest/status/639400263007236096, I asked The
> Internets whether or not we should split the `w3c/webappsec` repository
> into a dozen or so specification-specific repositories. There wasn't a
> ton of response either way, but the folks who wanted the repository
> split seemed a little more vehement in their advocacy. :)
> 
> What say ye, public-webappsec@? Do you like the single repository for
> everything? Or would you prefer one repository per specification (with
> the `w3c/webappsec` repository remaining for things like the charter,
> and as an index/redirect machine for all the WG's specs)?
> 
> CCing chairs and editors explicitly, as they'll be most effected if we
> change things up.
> 
> -mike
> 
> --
> Mike West <mkwst@google.com <mailto:mkwst@google.com>>, @mikewest
> 
> Google Germany GmbH, Dienerstrasse 12, 80331 München,
> Germany, Registergericht und -nummer: Hamburg, HRB 86891, Sitz der
> Gesellschaft: Hamburg, Geschäftsführer: Graham Law, Christine Elizabeth
> Flores
> (Sorry; I'm legally required to add this exciting detail to emails. Bleh.)
Received on Tuesday, 8 September 2015 08:43:04 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 23 October 2017 14:54:15 UTC