W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2015

Re: Imperative API for Node Distribution in Shadow DOM (Revisited)

From: Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@chromium.org>
Date: Wed, 6 May 2015 23:10:08 -0700
Message-ID: <CAO9Q3iK2V7VSLrURK3DFLi1NKck7bo9N=69PtP6v+86q1Rrp6g@mail.gmail.com>
To: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>
Cc: Hayato Ito <hayato@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Domenic Denicola <d@domenic.me>, Justin Fagnani <justinfagnani@google.com>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>, Erik Bryn <erik@erikbryn.com>, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>, "Edward O'Connor" <eoconnor@apple.com>, Steve Orvell <sorvell@google.com>
On Wed, May 6, 2015 at 11:08 PM, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl> wrote:

> On Thu, May 7, 2015 at 6:02 AM, Hayato Ito <hayato@chromium.org> wrote:
> > I'm saying:
> > - Composed tree is related with CSS.
> > - Node distribution should be considered as a part of style concept.
>
> Right, I think Ryosuke and I simply disagree with that assessment. CSS
> operates on the composed tree (and forms a render tree from it).
> Events operate on the composed tree. Selection operates on the
> composed tree (likely, we haven't discussed this much).


Selection operates on the render tree. The current selection API is
(completely) busted for modern apps, and a new one is needed that's based
around layout. Flexbox w/ order, positioned objects, distributions, grid,
none of them work with the DOM based API.

- E
Received on Thursday, 7 May 2015 06:11:17 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 27 October 2017 07:27:31 UTC