W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-vc-edu@w3.org > October 2021

VC-EDU Task Force Charter Update Q4 2021

From: Kerri Lemoie <klemoie@concentricsky.com>
Date: Tue, 26 Oct 2021 12:37:03 -0400
Message-Id: <DC15F839-E3D8-41FD-B8FF-D2AF1DC54E34@concentricsky.com>
Cc: public-vc-edu@w3.org
To: Credentials Community Group <public-credentials@w3.org>
Hello all,

The VC-EDU Task Force has updated its charter. You can access the revised version here:

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1fAdC1mBSP-p6zxXGRQNfSQNPe5MY6UZ6Tf676oY7BOk/edit#heading=h.iem8mwq6o4rn <https://docs.google.com/document/d/1fAdC1mBSP-p6zxXGRQNfSQNPe5MY6UZ6Tf676oY7BOk/edit#heading=h.iem8mwq6o4rn>

I’d like to give a big shout out to our founding chair, Kim Hamilton Duffy, who kicked off this Task Force as part of her work at MIT’s Digital Credentials Consortium. She did an excellent job shepherding us through many challenging discussions about aligning existing education data standards with VCs and setting up our primary work items to develop community reports about use cases (https://w3c-ccg.github.io/vc-ed-use-cases/ <https://w3c-ccg.github.io/vc-ed-use-cases/>) and data models (https://w3c-ccg.github.io/vc-ed-models/ <https://w3c-ccg.github.io/vc-ed-models/>) which are currently in progress - in particular we have an eagle eye focus on use cases right now.

A couple of revisions to the scope include:

- Expanded to officially include training and achievement credentials
- A reduced focus on the LER Wrapper envelope/letter approach and shift to encouraging native alignment to VCs. Standards working in this direction already include IMS Global and HR Open Standards.

If you are interested in this work, please join the vc-edu mailing list (https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-vc-edu/ <https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-vc-edu/>) and our regular calls on Mondays at 8am PDT / 11am EDT / 4pm BST, 5pm CEST (https://meet.w3c-ccg.org/education <https://meet.w3c-ccg.org/education>).

Thank you,

Kerri

--------
Kerri Lemoie, PhD
Director, Digital Credentials Research & Innovation
badgr.com <https://info.badgr.com/> | concentricsky.com <https://concentricsky.com/>
she/her/hers







Received on Tuesday, 26 October 2021 16:38:18 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 26 October 2021 16:38:19 UTC