W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > August 2015

Re: aria-describedat

From: James Craig <jcraig@apple.com>
Date: Tue, 11 Aug 2015 10:19:39 -0700
Cc: Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, "Gunderson, Jon R" <jongund@illinois.edu>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Ted O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>, Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, Judy Brewer <jbrewer@w3.org>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, Leonie Watson <lwatson@paciellogroup.com>, Markus Gylling <markus.gylling@gmail.com>, "public-digipub-ig@w3.org" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, W3C PF - DPUB Joint Task Force <public-dpub-aria@w3.org>, HTMLWG WG <public-html@w3.org>, PF <public-pfwg@w3.org>, SVG WG <public-svg-wg@w3.org>, "David (Standards) Singer" <singer@apple.com>
Message-Id: <AC5F6031-2EA4-4041-A20B-B0CFC0B651CE@apple.com>
To: Chaals McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru>

> On Aug 11, 2015, at 2:40 AM, Chaals McCathie Nevile <chaals@yandex-team.ru> wrote:
> 
> On Mon, 10 Aug 2015 20:29:57 +0200, Gunderson, Jon R
> <jongund@illinois.edu> wrote:
> 
>> Rich,
>> 
>> In your example does the SUMMARY element content serve as the text equivalent for the image, or would the image also need an ALT attribute?
> 
> In the example as suggested, it appears that there needs to be an alt as well.
> 
> Actually, the example wouldn't work at the moment, and would force everyone to read the full table, which is pretty sub-optimal, given that details/summary isn't implemented - and therefore nor is it part of an HTML standard.

Straw man fallacy. 

The referenced example works fine.
http://cookiecrook.com/longdesc/details/

It has native support in Safari & Chrome, and proof-of-concept polyfill support in Firefox & IE.

> An alternative is to provide the table via longdesc, but while almost all screenreaders support this fine, support for non-screenreader users in browsers is still pretty much rubbish :(

Rubbish, indeed.
Received on Tuesday, 11 August 2015 17:20:36 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:16:46 UTC