W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

Re: PROPOSAL: Procedure to Promote Progress With Accessibility Issues in HTML5

From: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Date: Mon, 20 Jul 2009 06:02:05 -0400
Message-ID: <4A64409D.6060707@intertwingly.net>
To: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
CC: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>, wai-liaison@w3.org, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, schwer@us.ibm.com, sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com, John Foliot <foliot@wats.ca>
Laura Carlson wrote:
> 
>> My suggestion is that everbody focus on filling public-html (and
>> wai-xtech and the teleconferences) with actual concrete proposals.
> 
> Our proposal is real.

I was unclear.  I meant concrete technical proposals on specific 
features to add to the work products of the HTML Working Group (i.e., 
specs).

As an aside, you seem to want to increase collaboration.  As a general 
rule, it is best to start with an open discussion, on public-html. 
Starting with a PROPOSAL with ten signatories is an anti-pattern, i.e., 
something to be avoided.

I realize that people are frustrated[1].  John says that "supposedly" 
there is an open issue.  There is no supposedly about it.  There is an 
issue[2], and its status is open.  Yes, on summary Ian has proposed 
specific spec text.  To the best of my knowledge, he is the only one who 
has done so.

I am looking forward to concrete proposals on this issue.  Failing that, 
I am looking forward to an open discussion on the wording of a vote or 
straw poll.  Failing that, I am fully prepared to recommend that we 
proceed with the one and only tangible proposal that we do have.

> Best Regards,
> Laura

- Sam Ruby

[1] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2009Jul/0572.html
[2] http://www.w3.org/html/wg/tracker/issues/32
Received on Monday, 20 July 2009 10:04:59 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:48 UTC