W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

Re: PROPOSAL: Procedure to Promote Progress With Accessibility Issues in HTML5

From: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Date: Sun, 19 Jul 2009 18:39:40 -0500
Message-ID: <1c8dbcaa0907191639y397f9c7bw4993d0ce595698c1@mail.gmail.com>
To: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>
Cc: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>, wai-liaison@w3.org, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, schwer@us.ibm.com, sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com
Hi Sam,

>> Yes they are. But none are articulated officially in a single
>> procedural document. There are  few emails scattered here and there
>> but the HTML Working Group has no document in place.
>
> http://www.w3.org/html/wg/

That document does not detail a procedure of how the HTML WG will
fulfill the Charter's mandate to "The HTML Working Group will
cooperate with the Web Accessibility Initiative to ensure that the
deliverables will satisfy accessibility requirements."

> Instead, what was sent was a thinly veiled complaint that the editor
> doesn't participate in phone calls.

I am sorry if it was taken that way. The proposal does not say "the
editor" it said "editors". Just last week it was stated that we have
multiple specifications in competition and multiple editors.
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2009Jul/0408.html

Over a year ago Dan was looking for editors to work collaboratively.
http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-archive/2008Apr/0075.html

It is most commendable that editors are beginning an attempt to work
in this manner. Our proposal aims to formalize procedures with regards
to *accessibility* to ensure that all *accessibility* issues are dealt
with in a consistent and efficient manner.

> Lets start small, and follow this:
>
> http://www.w3.org/2007/03/HTML-WG-charter.html#communication
> http://www.w3.org/2007/03/HTML-WG-charter.html#participation

Small hasn't worked.  People don't join the HTML WG because of lack of
process. People join the HTML WG but do not  participate because of
lack of process.  People quit the HTML WG because of lack of process.

Lack of process is a problem. Ignore it and it will still be a
problem. What goes around comes around.

> My suggestion is that everbody focus on filling public-html (and
> wai-xtech and the teleconferences) with actual concrete proposals.

Our proposal is real.

Best Regards,
Laura

-- 
Laura L. Carlson
Received on Sunday, 19 July 2009 23:41:29 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:48 UTC