W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > March 2011

RE: Agenda: HTML-A11Y Media Subteam on 30 March at 22:00Z for 90 Minutes

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Wed, 30 Mar 2011 00:18:38 +0000 (UTC)
To: Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
cc: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Silvia Pfeiffer (silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com)" <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>, Frank Olivier <Frank.Olivier@microsoft.com>, Sean Hayes <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>, "Sam Ruby (rubys@intertwingly.net)" <rubys@intertwingly.net>, "Maciej Stachowiak (mjs@apple.com)" <mjs@apple.com>, HTML Accessibility Task Force <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.64.1103300016270.25791@ps20323.dreamhostps.com>
On Tue, 29 Mar 2011, Paul Cotton wrote:
> 
> I just want to be very clear about the timing involved in this survey 
> delay.  We need any consolidation to occur BEFORE 6pm ET on Fri Apr 1 so 
> that the chairs can build and issue the survey later on Friday.
> 
> I would appreciate one of the TF members taking on an action item to 
> send an explicit email on Friday describing the change proposals that 
> the survey for ISSUE-152 should be based on.

For the record, I take issue with the way the drive to Last Call is 
forcing rushed decisions on complicated issues such as this one. I do not 
think the Web benefits from us forcing decisions to be made under pressure 
when there is no practical reason for any decision to be made in short 
order at all. This is a hugely complicated issue with many subtle aspects. 
The chairs are doing a serious disservice to the Web here.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 00:19:08 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:55:53 UTC