Re: [css-counter-styles] Should using the wrong symbols vs. additive-symbols make an @counter-style rule invalid?

On Mar 25, 2014, at 6:51 PM, L. David Baron <> wrote:

> This means that failing to have a necessary 'symbols' or
> 'additive-symbols' descriptor makes a @counter-style rule invalid,
> and having an unnecessary 'symbols' or 'additive-symbols' descriptor
> for a rule with 'system: override' makes the @counter-style rule
> invalid.
It does seem odd for an override mechanism to be invalidated by the presence of things it is meant to override. I'd expect an override property or value to cause some things to be ignored, not to invalidate the whole rule.

Received on Wednesday, 26 March 2014 19:44:00 UTC