W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > January 2014

Re: padding lost in overflow

From: Robert O'Callahan <robert@ocallahan.org>
Date: Fri, 17 Jan 2014 14:08:34 +1300
Message-ID: <CAOp6jLZ006NvLh0acbSL27uiQhMNvdhtJE361X1L5yodfaqJ7g@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>
Cc: Mats Palmgren <mats@mozilla.com>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>, David Baron <dbaron@dbaron.org>, Daniel Holbert <dholbert@mozilla.com>, Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@chromium.org>
On Fri, Jan 17, 2014 at 12:39 PM, Tab Atkins Jr. <jackalmage@gmail.com>wrote:

> After thinking through it more, yeah, you're right.  We don't want to
> *actually* mess with the boxes, but we *do* want to allow people to
> use 'padding' for the end edges of their scrollable content the same
> way they can with the start edges.
>
> So yeah, just growing the overflow area by the amount of the padding
> along the end edges would work.
>

I'm not totally opposed to that idea, but there is still going to be
confusion about what the padding box and content boxes of the scrolled
element actually are --- in authors' minds, if not the spec. So I'm not
convinced it's a clear win. I'd like to hear the opinions of more people.

Rob
-- 
Jtehsauts  tshaei dS,o n" Wohfy  Mdaon  yhoaus  eanuttehrotraiitny  eovni
le atrhtohu gthot sf oirng iyvoeu rs ihnesa.r"t sS?o  Whhei csha iids  teoa
stiheer :p atroa lsyazye,d  'mYaonu,r  "sGients  uapr,e  tfaokreg iyvoeunr,
'm aotr  atnod  sgaoy ,h o'mGee.t"  uTph eann dt hwea lmka'n?  gBoutt  uIp
waanndt  wyeonut  thoo mken.o w
Received on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:09:02 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 25 March 2022 10:08:38 UTC