W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > January 2010

Re: HTML+RDFa Heartbeat Draft publishing request

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Thu, 14 Jan 2010 11:21:36 +0100
Message-ID: <4B4EF030.8090408@gmx.de>
To: Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>
CC: Michael Hausenblas <michael.hausenblas@deri.org>, Lachlan Hunt <lachlan.hunt@lachy.id.au>, Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>, www-archive <www-archive@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Henri Sivonen wrote:
> On Jan 14, 2010, at 12:04, Julian Reschke wrote:
> 
>> So, for instance, extending the language schema (be it DTD or whatever) or XML namespaces are *examples* for these kind of extensibility.
> 
> The schema for HTML5 is expressed in English and the schema already has an extensibility point that is more versatile than DTDs:
> http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/#other-applicable-specifications

Yes, that's an extension point. Hopefully we can agree that extensions 
using it aren't "second-class", though.

What's missing is a mechanism through which a document can declare which 
extensions it uses, so that a validator can actually check that.

Best regards, Julian
Received on Thursday, 14 January 2010 10:22:15 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:33:45 UTC