W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > August 2008

Re: [whatwg] Creative Commons Rights Expression Language

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Sun, 24 Aug 2008 10:36:17 +0000 (UTC)
To: Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>
Cc: Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, "Bonner, Matt" <matt.bonner@hp.com>, 'Julian Reschke' <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, "'Tab Atkins Jr.'" <jackalmage@gmail.com>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>, "Ralph R. Swick" <swick@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0808241029040.19930@hixie.dreamhostps.com>

On Sun, 24 Aug 2008, Dan Brickley wrote:
> 
> I'm sure a small group of these could be assembled to discuss an 
> RDFa-for-HTML5 proposal, should one be made.

I would be very interested in taking part in such discussions. I would 
in particular like to see discussion of:

 * What the problem being addressed is.

 * What research shows that it is an important enough problem that it 
   should be addressed.

 * What the requirements are.

As you say, I don't think we have a shared vision here. In particular, 
there have been several alusions to concepts that I do not understand at 
all, like computers fetching information about vocabularies and doing 
something useful with that information. If a complete description of the 
problem or problems that are of interest here could be put forward, along 
with research showing why these are important problems (e.g. showing that 
these are problems faced by the bulk of users), and along with a 
discussion of the requirements that a solution would need, it would go a 
long way towards leading us to a shared understanding of the discussion. 

So far, I have not felt like we have an agreement on what the problems we 
should be solving are, which makes it hard to discuss proposals.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Sunday, 24 August 2008 10:36:38 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:33:32 UTC