W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > October 2018

Re: Semantic Web Interest Group now closed

From: Martin Hepp <mfhepp@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 15 Oct 2018 17:36:04 +0200
Cc: John Leonard <john.leonard@incisivemedia.com>, David Booth <david@dbooth.org>, xueyuan <xueyuan@w3.org>, "semantic-web@w3.org" <semantic-web@w3.org>
Message-Id: <E40815AE-717D-49EC-9BCB-9CFAE8DE147C@gmail.com>
To: Axel Polleres <axel@polleres.net>
+1
Martin 

---------------------------------------
martin hepp
www:  http://www.heppnetz.de/
email: mhepp@computer.org


> Am 15.10.2018 um 17:27 schrieb Axel Polleres <axel@polleres.net>:
> 
> +1 to keep the list up "as is" 
> 
> Axel
> --
> Dr. Axel Polleres	
> url: http://www.polleres.net/  twitter: @AxelPolleres
> 
>> On 15.10.2018, at 17:20, John Leonard <john.leonard@incisivemedia.com> wrote:
>> 
>> I prefer Linked Data as a term (I've never met anyone who understands what the Semantic Web is outside of people who are actually creating it whereas Linked Data is self-explanatory, at least in terms of getting over the first hurdle), but does Linked Data have close enough to the same meaning to satisfy everyone?
>> 
>> 
>> From: David Booth <david@dbooth.org>
>> Sent: 15 October 2018 16:09
>> To: xueyuan; semantic-web@w3.org
>> Subject: Re: Semantic Web Interest Group now closed
>>  
>> On 10/15/2018 10:49 AM, xueyuan wrote:
>>  > This message is to inform you that the Semantic Web Interest Group
>>  > is now closed, [ . . . . ]
>>  > With the introduction of Community Groups we now encourage the
>>  > participants in the IG forum to
>>  > establish Community Groups to continue the conversations.
>> 
>> Given that the semantic-web@w3.org email list has served the community 
>> very well, I think it would be helpful for continuity if a Community 
>> Group could take over the existing email list.  Is this possible?  And 
>> if so, does this mean that we should now create such a community group?
>> 
>> My one hesitation in continuing with the existing list is that the 
>> choice of the name "Semantic Web" has long been recognized as a 
>> marketing mistake, so perhaps it is time to say goodbye to it.  "Linked 
>> Data" is a substantially better term.
>> 
>> Thoughts?
>> 
>> David Booth
> 

Received on Monday, 15 October 2018 15:36:29 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Tuesday, 5 July 2022 08:45:56 UTC