W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webrtc@w3.org > July 2013

RE: VS: Teleco Integrators vs Web Developers vs Browser Implementers

From: Martin Steinmann <martin@ezuce.com>
Date: Fri, 5 Jul 2013 12:41:37 -0400
To: "'Martin Thomson'" <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, "'Parthasarathi R'" <partha@parthasarathi.co.in>
Cc: "'cowwoc'" <cowwoc@bbs.darktech.org>, "'Christer Holmberg'" <christer.holmberg@ericsson.com>, 'Iñaki Baz Castillo' <ibc@aliax.net>, "'Robin Raymond'" <robin@hookflash.com>, "'Roman Shpount'" <roman@telurix.com>, "'Adam Bergkvist'" <adam.bergkvist@ericsson.com>, "'Ted Hardie'" <ted.ietf@gmail.com>, "'piranna_gmail.com'" <piranna@gmail.com>, "'public-webrtc_w3.org'" <public-webrtc@w3.org>, "'Eric Rescorla'" <ekr@rtfm.com>
Message-ID: <02ed01ce799e$864ed4f0$92ec7ed0$@ezuce.com>
>From: Martin Thomson [mailto:martin.thomson@gmail.com] 
>Sent: Friday, July 05, 2013 12:25 PM
>To: Parthasarathi R
>Cc: cowwoc; Christer Holmberg; Iñaki Baz Castillo; Robin Raymond; Roman Shpount; Adam Bergkvist; Ted Hardie; piranna_gmail.com; public->webrtc_w3.org; Eric Rescorla
>Subject: Re: VS: Teleco Integrators vs Web Developers vs Browser Implementers
>
>On 3 July 2013 12:03, Parthasarathi R <partha@parthasarathi.co.in> wrote:
>> 1)      Multiple signaling protocol has to be supported like Jingle, SIP
>
>This is false.  A non-SDP API makes it significantly easier to support non-SDP protocols.
>
>If you were to make the case that ONLY Jingle and SIP were intended to be supported, then that it would be true that an SDP API would make it easier to >support those protocols.  However, it's clearly not the case that only Jingle and SIP are being used (the complete opposite in fact).

If you abstract from proprietary solutions, can you make a list of what else is used other than SIP and XMPP?  We are talking about a standard here, aren't we?
--martin


>
>> 2)      Develop WebRTC application with few lines of code.
>>
>> a.       This is not possible with API based approach
>
>This is also demonstrably false.
>
Received on Friday, 5 July 2013 16:41:48 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 23 October 2017 15:19:34 UTC