W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-webapps@w3.org > April to June 2015

Re: Shadow DOM: state of the distribution API

From: Wilson Page <wilsonpage@me.com>
Date: Fri, 15 May 2015 16:39:24 +0100
Message-ID: <CAP=fDxXQQM7db5LgvsSmn1-R36ahMX4c5HkrR441yz7w2MEnqA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Olli Pettay <olli@pettay.fi>
Cc: Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com>, Hayato Ito <hayato@chromium.org>, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@apple.com>, Elliott Sprehn <esprehn@chromium.org>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, WebApps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
Wouldn't it likely need to be called just before layout? All the issues
Dimitri highlighted are symptoms of layout running before distribution.

On Fri, May 15, 2015 at 3:46 PM, Olli Pettay <olli@pettay.fi> wrote:

> On 05/15/2015 05:37 PM, Wilson Page wrote:
>
>> Would it be possible to leave the calling of the shadowRoot's
>> distribute() function to the engine? This way the engine can be in full
>> control over
>> *when* distribution happens.
>>
>
>
> We would need to define when the engine calls it, otherwise web pages
> start to rely on the behavior of whatever engine the developers of the
> particular page mostly use.
>
>
>
> -Olli
>
>
>
>> On Wed, May 13, 2015 at 5:46 PM, Dimitri Glazkov <dglazkov@google.com
>> <mailto:dglazkov@google.com>> wrote:
>>
>>     I did a quick experiment around distribution timing:
>>
>> https://github.com/w3c/webcomponents/blob/gh-pages/proposals/Distribution-Timing-Experiment.md.
>> Hope you find it helpful.
>>
>>     :DG<
>>
>>
>>
>
Received on Friday, 15 May 2015 15:39:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 27 October 2017 07:27:31 UTC