W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-web-perf@w3.org > November 2013

Re: [Beacon] spec feedback + few suggestions

From: Doug Turner <doug.turner@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 20 Nov 2013 08:52:19 -0800
Cc: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com>, Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>, "Austin, Daniel" <daaustin@paypal.com>, public-web-perf <public-web-perf@w3.org>
Message-Id: <1E1BF5B2-5988-420E-B272-27B608E5995C@gmail.com>
To: Chase Douglas <chase@newrelic.com>
Shouldn’t it just be part of the non-normative text that says something like “User Agents may cap the number of beacons allowed to be posted” or something?  I do not think we should spec out the exact the number of outstanding beacons.  User Agents should be given the flexibility to do what is right for their users and system.


On Nov 20, 2013, at 8:47 AM, Chase Douglas <chase@newrelic.com> wrote:

> Would that mean that the total allowed queued would essentially depend on transmission rate? If you can send 64Kbps, then you can send 6.4 10K beacons per second? Or would there still be some kind of limit on how many beacons can be sent per unit of time?
Received on Wednesday, 20 November 2013 16:52:53 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:04:37 UTC