W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-svg-ig@w3.org > April to June 2009

Re: Proposed SVG IG Conf Call: Tues May 26th

From: Rob Russell <rob@latenightpc.com>
Date: Fri, 22 May 2009 13:45:03 -0400
Message-ID: <4A16E49F.6000608@latenightpc.com>
To: "Porter, David A" <david.a.porter@boeing.com>
CC: Andreas Neumann <a.neumann@carto.net>, Jeff Schiller <codedread@gmail.com>, SVG IG List <public-svg-ig@w3.org>
It's a pain, but iirc even "Eastern" isn't a perfect descriptor. Where I 
am we're using EDT (UTC -4) right now but some places in the Eastern 
time zone don't celebrate daylight savings time so they'd still be on 
EST (UTC-5).

UTC doesn't change with daylight savings time, so the proposed time is 
Tuesday 18:00 UTC. That's 2:00pm EDT. Central Europe is on CEST right 
now (UTC+2) so the local time proposed there is 20:00, in the winter on 
CET (UTC+1) it would be 19:00 but I expect we'll have to change it again 
by then since people's schedules and availability change.

It's a nuisance to convert but stating the time in UTC & a few other 
timezones seems to be the most clear thing we can do.

Oh, and 2:00pm on Tuesdays is fine for me :)

Rob Russell
rob@latenightpc.com
http://www.latenightpc.com/blog
519-968-1161



Porter, David A wrote:
> I vote for providing times in human-readable form, i.e. "Eastern" time.
> It's a lot easier to translate into the conditions of wherever you're
> at.  At least for people not that accustomed to UTC math. 
>   
>> David.A.Porter@Boeing.com
>> Distributed Server Integration, 9T-IT-TL40
>> Boeing Information Technology, Bellevue Washington USA
>> * phone 253-223-4732, other contact options at
>>     
> http://card.web.boeing.com/WebCard.cfm?id=113185
>
>
>
>  
>  
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Andreas Neumann [mailto:a.neumann@carto.net] 
> Sent: Thursday, May 21, 2009 10:52 PM
> To: Jeff Schiller
> Cc: SVG IG List
> Subject: Re: Proposed SVG IG Conf Call: Tues May 26th
>
> Seems good to me.
>
> When discussing times, there is always the question whether we need to
> add daylight savings or not.
>
> As an example, in winter time middle europe is UTC+1, but in summer
> time, we are UTC+2.
>
> Are you suggesting 19:00 UTC+2 ? (which is UTC+1 in winter?) or would
> this be 20:00?
>
> Andreas
>
>
> On Fri, May 22, 2009 3:56 am, Jeff Schiller wrote:
>   
>> After looking over the schedules, it seems that the following time is 
>> acceptable to most (but not all) people:
>>
>> Tue 13:00 UTC-5  / Tue 14:00 UTC-4  / Tue 19:00 UTC+1  / Tue 22:00 
>> UTC+4
>>
>> Please chime in on your opinion of this timeslot as soon as possible.
>>
>> Thanks,
>> Jeff
>>
>>
>>     
>
>
> --
> Andreas Neumann
> http://www.carto.net/neumann/
> http://www.svgopen.org/
>
>
>
>   
Received on Friday, 22 May 2009 17:47:08 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:28:24 UTC