W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org > February 2012

Re: HCLS SciDiscourse call Monday February 20, 2012: Yolanda Gil and Paul Groth will discuss Prov

From: Luciano, Joanne Sylvia <jluciano@rpi.edu>
Date: Mon, 20 Feb 2012 12:28:50 +0000
To: David Shotton <david.shotton@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Waard, Anita de A (ELS-NYC)" <A.dewaard@elsevier.com>
CC: Tim Clark <tim.clark@rcn.com>, HCLS IG <public-semweb-lifesci@w3.org>, "scidiscourse@googlegroups.com" <scidiscourse@googlegroups.com>, "mal@aber.ac.uk" <mal@aber.ac.uk>, Alberto Accomazzi <aaccomazzi@cfa.harvard.edu>, "Allen, Bradley P (ELS-SDG)" <B.Allen@elsevier.com>, Sophia Ananiadou <Sophia.Ananiadou@manchester.ac.uk>, Philip Bourne <bourne@sdsc.edu>, Gully Burns <gully@usc.edu>, "Daniel, Ronald (ELS-SDG)" <R.Daniel@elsevier.com>, Rahul Dave <rahuldave@gmail.com>, Alf Eaton <A.Eaton@nature.com>, Alexander Garcia Castro <alexgarciac@gmail.com>, Matthew Gamble <matthew.gamble@gmail.com>, Yolanda Gil <gil@isi.edu>, Alyssa Goodman <agoodman@cfa.harvard.edu>, Paul Groth <pgroth@gmail.com>, Tudor Groza <tudor.groza@deri.org>, "Hays, Ellen (ELS-BUR)" <E.Hays@elsevier.com>, Maryann Martone <maryann@ncmir.ucsd.edu>, David R Newman <drn05r@ecs.soton.ac.uk>, "Scerri, Antony (ELS-CAM)" <A.scerri@elsevier.com>, Jack Park <jackpark@gmail.com>, Silvio Peroni <speroni@cs.unibo.it>, Steve Pettifer <steve.pettifer@manchester.ac.uk>, Philippe Rocca-Serra <proccaserra@googlemail.com>, Cartic Ramakrishnan <cartic@isi.edu>, Jodi Schneider <jodi.schneider@deri.org>, Kaitlin Thaney <k.thaney@digital-science.com>, Karin Verspoor <Karin.Verspoor@ucdenver.edu>, Lynette Hirschman <lynette@mitre.org>, Susanna-Assunta Sansone <sa.sansone@gmail.com>, Kees van Bochove <business@keesvanbochove.nl>, Katy Wolstencroft <katy@cs.man.ac.uk>, Jun Zhao <jun.zhao@zoo.ox.ac.uk>, "Taylor, Michael (ELS-OXF)" <Mi.Taylor@elsevier.com>, Olav Hartig <hartig@informatik.hu-berlin.de>, Deborah McGuinness <dlm@cs.rpi.edu>, Graham Klyne <graham.klyne@zoo.ox.ac.uk>
Message-ID: <57374068-F8CE-403C-9385-971441FF29FD@rpi.edu>
Regrets --
I'm taking the holiday today (well, part of it).
Regret I can't make this one, but forwarded to tetherless world email list. I know there is interest and related work going on here, though I don't know if the email will reach anyone in time for the call. We are on holiday today (President's Day) in the US.

Cheers,
Joanne

On Feb 20, 2012, at 5:24 AM, David Shotton wrote:

Dear all,

The discussion of roles in PROV (http://www.w3.org/TR/prov-primer/#roles-1) makes me wonder whether the ability to encode roles that have specific time durations and other dependencies might be useful in this provenance context.  Silvio Peroni and I have developed ontologies for this purpose, for example PRO, the Publishing Roles Ontology, using a common time-indexed situation ontology modelling pattern that is described in the attached presentation.  We offer this as a contribution to the discussion.

The other issue that I think needs clarification at the beginning of the discussion is the relationship between PROV and other provenance vocabularies, including the Open Provenance Model from Luc Moreau and colleagues (2009) (http://openprovenance.org/), the Open Provenance Model Vocabulary (http://open-biomed.sourceforge.net/opmv/ns.html) that Jun Zhao developed from this in 2010, the Provenance Vocabulary (http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/trdf/index.php?title=Guide_to_the_Provenance_Vocabulary) from Jun Zhao and Olav Hartig (2010), and the current work on provenance in workflows by Matthew Gamble, Jun Zhao, Graham Klyne and colleagues in the Workflows for Ever EU Project (http://www.wf4ever-project.org/).  The paper Reflections on Provenance Ontology Encodings by Deborah McGuinness and colleagues, available at http://tw.rpi.edu/web/doc/Reflections_on_Provenance_Ontology_Encodings, is partially relevant here.

I look forward to joining the conference call this afternoon.

Kind regards,

David


On 19/02/2012 04:04, Waard, Anita de A (ELS-NYC) wrote:

Dear all,

Please join us on Monday for the next Health Care and Life Sciences Sig Scientific Discourse call, where Yolanda Gil and Paul Groth will discuss the PROV data model for provenance - see primer at http://www.w3.org/TR/prov-primer/.

For more details on their talk and the agenda and dial-up details for the call see below, or the HCLS wiki at http://www.w3.org/wiki/HCLSIG/SWANSIOC/Actions/RhetoricalStructure/meetings/20120220.

Best,

- Anita.

Anita de Waard
Disruptive Technologies Director, Elsevier Labs
http://elsatglabs.com/labs/anita/
a.dewaard@elsevier.com<mailto:a.dewaard@elsevier.com>


Agenda Scientific Discourse Working Group W3C HCLS SIG, February 20, 2012:

1. The W3C Prov family of specs: An Update

Paul Groth (VU University Amsterdam) is the co-chair of the W3C provenance working group
Yolanda Gil (University of Southern California) is the co-editor of the PROV Primer

In this talk, we provide an update of the developments of the a series of W3C recommendations for enabling provenance interoperability on the web. We give a brief overview of the various specifications and describe the core data model that enables exchange. We are looking for feedback and interested users.

2. Use case status

2.1. Enhance Drug-mechanism Knowledge in Drug Product Labels
2.2. Defining core metadata for describing biomedical investigations
2.3. Mining Treatment Outcomes

3. Any other business.

Dial-in & IRC Information:

* Time: 10:00 EDT
* Dial-In #: +1.617.761.6200 (Cambridge, MA)
* Dial-In #: +33.4.26.46.79.03 (Paris, France)
* Dial-In #: +44.203.318.0479 (London, UK)
* Participant Access Code: 42572 ("HCLS2")
* IRC Channel: irc.w3.org<http://irc.w3.org> port 6665 channel #HCLS2 use IRC direct link or (see W3C IRC page for details, or see Web IRC)
* Mibbit quick start: Click on mibbit for instant IRC access
* Duration: 1hr
Elsevier B.V. Registered Office: Radarweg 29, 1043 NX Amsterdam, The Netherlands, Registration No. 33156677 (The Netherlands)



--

Dr David Shotton
Image Bioinformatics Research Group, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford
South Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PS, UK.   Phone: +44 (0)1865-271193   Skype: davidshotton
<Shotton&Peroni_PRO-and-PSO.ppt>
Received on Thursday, 23 February 2012 09:24:51 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:21:05 UTC