W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-script-coord@w3.org > July to September 2014

Re: Ambient light API redesign

From: Olli Pettay <olli@pettay.fi>
Date: Mon, 08 Sep 2014 14:53:47 +0300
Message-ID: <540D98CB.2020104@pettay.fi>
To: Tobie Langel <tobie.langel@gmail.com>, Mounir Lamouri <mounir@lamouri.fr>
CC: Rick Waldron <waldron.rick@gmail.com>, Tim Volodine <timvolodine@google.com>, Marcos Caceres <marcos@marcosc.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, "public-device-apis@w3.org" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, Anssi Kostiainen <anssi.kostiainen@intel.com>, public-script-coord <public-script-coord@w3.org>, Doug Turner <dougt@mozilla.com>, Domenic Denicola <domenic@domenicdenicola.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>
On 09/08/2014 02:48 PM, Tobie Langel wrote:
> On Mon, Sep 8, 2014 at 1:38 PM, Mounir Lamouri <mounir@lamouri.fr <mailto:mounir@lamouri.fr>> wrote:
>
>     On Mon, 8 Sep 2014, at 21:24, Tobie Langel wrote:
>     > Given the requestAnimationFrame use cases exposed by Rick, it seems that
>     > obtaining the Sensor instance immediately is more developer friendly than
>     > getting it through a resolved promise. Especially if numerous sensors
>     > need
>     > to interact.
>
>     ```
>     sensors = null;
>     Promise.all(getSensor1(), getSensor2(), getSensor3()).then(function (s)
>     {
>        sensors = s;
>     });
>
>     requestAnimationFrame(function(frame) {
>        requestAnimationFrame(frame);
>
>        if (!sensors)
>          return;
>
>        [...]
>     });
>     ```
>
>
> This prevents displaying any data until all sensors have been provided with an initial value, which is probably not the kind of behavior you want.
>
> --tobie




That depends on how we eventually spec Promise should work in browsers. Wasn't the plan at some point to use microtasks?
(One of the main goals behind microtasks was to get callbacks to be called asynchronously, but asap, so in practice before rAF callbacks)


-Olli
Received on Monday, 8 September 2014 11:54:17 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:14:22 UTC