W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-script-coord@w3.org > July to September 2014

Re: Ambient light API redesign

From: Tobie Langel <tobie.langel@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 8 Sep 2014 13:48:22 +0200
Message-ID: <CAMK=o4cDnh8O8966YeHiC3neCVqO6iAdgxMyvAWFrCodbE5rWg@mail.gmail.com>
To: Mounir Lamouri <mounir@lamouri.fr>
Cc: Rick Waldron <waldron.rick@gmail.com>, Tim Volodine <timvolodine@google.com>, Marcos Caceres <marcos@marcosc.com>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, "public-device-apis@w3.org" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, Anssi Kostiainen <anssi.kostiainen@intel.com>, public-script-coord <public-script-coord@w3.org>, Doug Turner <dougt@mozilla.com>, Domenic Denicola <domenic@domenicdenicola.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>
On Mon, Sep 8, 2014 at 1:38 PM, Mounir Lamouri <mounir@lamouri.fr> wrote:

> On Mon, 8 Sep 2014, at 21:24, Tobie Langel wrote:
> > Given the requestAnimationFrame use cases exposed by Rick, it seems that
> > obtaining the Sensor instance immediately is more developer friendly than
> > getting it through a resolved promise. Especially if numerous sensors
> > need
> > to interact.
>
> ```
> sensors = null;
> Promise.all(getSensor1(), getSensor2(), getSensor3()).then(function (s)
> {
>   sensors = s;
> });
>
> requestAnimationFrame(function(frame) {
>   requestAnimationFrame(frame);
>
>   if (!sensors)
>     return;
>
>   [...]
> });
> ```
>

This prevents displaying any data until all sensors have been provided with
an initial value, which is probably not the kind of behavior you want.

--tobie
Received on Monday, 8 September 2014 11:49:01 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:14:22 UTC