W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-privacy@w3.org > October to December 2015

RE: Comments/Questions on Media Capture Streams – Privacy and Security Considerations

From: Mike O'Neill <michael.oneill@baycloud.com>
Date: Thu, 29 Oct 2015 21:13:18 -0000
To: "'Rigo Wenning'" <rigo@w3.org>, <public-privacy@w3.org>
Cc: "'Eric Rescorla'" <ekr@rtfm.com>, "'Martin Thomson'" <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, "'Mathieu Hofman'" <Mathieu.Hofman@citrix.com>, "'Harald Alvestrand'" <harald@alvestrand.no>, "'Nick Doty'" <npdoty@w3.org>, <public-media-capture@w3.org>
Message-ID: <6b4401d1128e$a2ecd0e0$e8c672a0$@baycloud.com>
I think it is also very subjective, there is a time window of awareness
which differs a lot between individuals. I find as I get older it gets
narrower, buts that’s maybe just me. The point is only the individual can
decide so the choice must be available for them, when the permission is
requested and to set a default when they just click yes. There also needs to
be a default for how long a request stays valid.

-----Original Message-----
From: Rigo Wenning [mailto:rigo@w3.org] 
Sent: 29 October 2015 20:34
To: public-privacy@w3.org
Cc: Mike O'Neill <michael.oneill@baycloud.com>; 'Eric Rescorla'
<ekr@rtfm.com>; 'Martin Thomson' <martin.thomson@gmail.com>; 'Mathieu
Hofman' <Mathieu.Hofman@citrix.com>; 'Harald Alvestrand'
<harald@alvestrand.no>; 'Nick Doty' <npdoty@w3.org>;
public-media-capture@w3.org
Subject: Re: Comments/Questions on Media Capture Streams – Privacy and
Security Considerations

On Thursday 29 October 2015 15:29:35 Mike O'Neill wrote:
> So what would be a reasonable default, somewhere between a few hours and
> eternity?

We still have this learned expectation that the phone only works if you pick

up the receiver or push a button. In skype, you would still have to click 
"answer". I think the browsers will have to experiment as the expectations
are 
probably not well aligned with the permission concept. 

 --Rigo
Received on Thursday, 29 October 2015 21:14:26 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 16:49:31 UTC