W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > September 2014

Re: proposal: have W3C HTML5 reference dated WHATWG URL standard rather than W3C copy

From: Brian Kardell <bkardell@gmail.com>
Date: Fri, 26 Sep 2014 12:15:04 -0400
Message-ID: <CADC=+jcm4pJvAc_HAP5qcGm2ZSYehT-tLtYNbUss2hWKcftbjA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz>
Cc: David Singer <singer@apple.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, David Baron <dbaron@mozilla.com>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, Tantek Çelik <tantek@cs.stanford.edu>, Robin Berjon <robin@w3.org>
As I understand it, ACs can vote on this now - the problem I see is
that it isn't currently clear what they are voting on without the WG
moving on a specific proposal.  Is it possible to link to the WHATWG
spec, or a copy as proposed and let that flow through the system and
move it forward?

On Fri, Sep 26, 2014 at 10:34 AM, Jirka Kosek <jirka@kosek.cz> wrote:
> On 26.9.2014 14:28, Brian Kardell wrote:
>> Hosting an exact copy of a snapshot for reference and archival purposes at
>> w3c doesn't appear to bother anyone as far as I can tell, the concern is
>> with unnecessary forking.  Seems sensible, does that make you feel better
>> about it?
>
> Yes
>
> --
> ------------------------------------------------------------------
>   Jirka Kosek      e-mail: jirka@kosek.cz      http://xmlguru.cz
> ------------------------------------------------------------------
>        Professional XML consulting and training services
>   DocBook customization, custom XSLT/XSL-FO document processing
> ------------------------------------------------------------------
>  OASIS DocBook TC member, W3C Invited Expert, ISO JTC1/SC34 rep.
> ------------------------------------------------------------------
>     Bringing you XML Prague conference    http://xmlprague.cz
> ------------------------------------------------------------------
>



-- 
Brian Kardell :: @briankardell :: hitchjs.com
Received on Friday, 26 September 2014 16:15:35 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Saturday, 9 October 2021 18:46:10 UTC