W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

RE: <video>RE: Codecs for <video> and <audio> (survey of positions on ISSUE-7 video-codecs)

From: John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>
Date: Tue, 28 Jul 2009 15:28:52 -0700 (PDT)
To: "'David Singer'" <singer@apple.com>, "'Dan Connolly'" <connolly@w3.org>, "'James Graham'" <jgraham@opera.com>
Cc: "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, "'Robin Berjon'" <robin@berjon.com>, "'Shelley Powers'" <shelley.just@gmail.com>, <public-html@w3.org>
Message-ID: <00c601ca0fd2$c8fd9050$5af8b0f0$@edu>
David Singer wrote:
> 
> 
> the choice of whether we use H.264, Theora, or something else (and
> similarly for audio) is *completely orthogonal* to the question of
> how we achieve accessibility.  Also, repeated posts by myself and
> others on setting up a framework for accessibility have met with
> essentially *zero* response.

Consider this then a formal response - I raise my hand to assist in
whatever way I might.  While I agree that the discussion of codec should
not have any impact on the accessibility framework, it appears that this
is not the case: the Working Group is grappling with codec questions and
accessibility is receiving zero attention.

I would welcome further discussions with you either via this forum or off
line on how I might assist in this important issue.

JF
Received on Tuesday, 28 July 2009 22:29:35 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:48 UTC