W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

Re: PROPOSAL: Procedure to Promote Progress With Accessibility Issues in HTML5

From: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Date: Sun, 19 Jul 2009 12:55:34 -0500
Message-ID: <1c8dbcaa0907191055o7ee52b85n66d5e6d5fed37e40@mail.gmail.com>
To: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Cc: Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>, wai-liaison@w3.org, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "Michael(tm) Smith" <mike@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, schwer@us.ibm.com, sfaulkner@paciellogroup.com
Hi Ian,

> Laura, in the interests of the collaboration you espouse, could you reply
> to the e-mail I wrote to you last month?

Taking sides and  placing blame will not help collaboration. It is
counterproductive. But I agree the time has come to face the future.
This is a time of a thousand opportunities. It is ours to reach out
and move forward together with WAI.

> I most recently tried to approach the WAI on the topic of <canvas>

[snip other initiatives].

These are all very good, Ian. I appreciate your recent efforts. The
table headers issue is the only progress that happened with the
accessibility issues in the past two years. That took people from PF
and the HTML WG actually talking, truly debating, and collaborating at
a face-to-face meeting. I think that collaboration is about only way
to move the accessibility issues forward. Task forces like Steve just
mentioned on issues such as canvas may lead the way.

> I look forward to further collaborations with the WAI

Excellent. Thank you. Critical to collaboration is the commitment of
people in leadership roles to support the effort.

Best Regards,
Laura

-- 
Laura L. Carlson
Received on Sunday, 19 July 2009 17:57:18 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:48 UTC