W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > December 2008

Sam Ruby appointed co-chair for HTML Working Group, effective January 5

From: Michael(tm) Smith <mike@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 15 Dec 2008 21:28:07 +0900
To: public-html@w3.org
Cc: Sam Ruby <rubys@us.ibm.com>
Message-ID: <20081215122807.GC24777@toro.w3.mag.keio.ac.jp>

This is an announcement to let everybody know that effective
January 5, there will be a change in the leadership for the HTML
Working Group. Sam Ruby has been appointed as a new co-chair by
the W3C Director, Tim Berners-Lee, and will be joining Chris
Wilson in that role next month; at that time, I'll be returning to
my previous role as the W3C staff contact for the group.

A little background about Sam: I'd guess that many of you already
know a bit about Sam -- but you can find more details here:


Some highlights about Sam that I think are particularly relevant
to the group:

  - he was an early adopter of HTML5 (take a look at the source
    for his personal site: http://www.intertwingly.net/blog/)

  - he's a member of the html5lib project:
    http://code.google.com/p/html5lib/ and developed the initial
    port of html5lib to the Ruby programming language

  - he was very closely involved with the specification for the
    Atom syndication format (RFC 4287) from pretty much the very
    earliest days of its (pre)development

  - he is a Director and Vice President of the Apache Software
    Foundation, and former chairman of the Apache Jakarta project,
    and has made code contributions to a number of the Apache
    Software Foundation’s open-source software projects

I'm very happy that we've been able to get Sam on in a leadership
role with the group, and I'm looking forward to working closely
with him and Chris both after he starts in that role on January 5.

I'll hope you'll join me in extending a very warm welcome to him.


Michael(tm) Smith
Received on Monday, 15 December 2008 12:28:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Saturday, 9 October 2021 18:44:40 UTC