W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-media@w3.org > September 2016

Re: Formal objections to Encrypted Media Extensions

From: Cory Doctorow <cory@eff.org>
Date: Thu, 8 Sep 2016 11:17:54 -0700
To: David Singer <singer@apple.com>
Cc: Joe Feely <joe.feely@googlemail.com>, Mark Watson <watsonm@netflix.com>, Joseph Lorenzo Hall <joe@cdt.org>, Harry Halpin <hhalpin@w3.org>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "public-html-media@w3.org" <public-html-media@w3.org>
Message-ID: <8642e650-cc3b-5043-e1d3-367627c679d9@eff.org>

>> 
>> The de novo anticircumvention rights that EME hands to members who 
>> participate in this WG
> 
> I don’t think EME hands any rights to anyone. It’s just an interface.

I disagree. But, of course, there's one way to be sure: adopt a covenant
through which W3C members bindingly assert that EME does not create new
anticircumvention rights under any of the relevant statutes, anywhere in
the world.




Received on Thursday, 8 September 2016 18:18:26 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 8 September 2016 18:18:27 UTC