W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-media@w3.org > April 2013

RE: Chromebook DRM specification

From: John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>
Date: Tue, 16 Apr 2013 10:32:19 -0700
To: 'Florian Bösch' <pyalot@gmail.com>, "'Glenn Adams'" <glenn@skynav.com>
Cc: "'Mark Watson'" <watsonm@netflix.com>, "'Paul Cotton'" <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, "'Mays, David'" <David_Mays@comcast.com>, "'David Dorwin'" <ddorwin@google.com>, <public-html-media@w3.org>, "'Philippe Le Hegaret'" <plh@w3.org>, "'Michael\(tm\) Smith'" <mike@w3.org>
Message-ID: <017501ce3ac8$5972a980$0c57fc80$@ca>
The link provided by Florian resolves to the Encrypted Media Extensions, and
not some mythical, FUD inducing HTML-DRM. Perhaps Florian would be best
served reading the following: 


“W3C is not developing a new DRM system, nor are we embracing DRM as an
organization.”
http://www.w3.org/QA/2013/03/drm_and_the_open_web.html

 

JF

 

From: Florian Bösch [mailto:pyalot@gmail.com] 
Sent: Tuesday, April 16, 2013 9:59 AM
To: Glenn Adams
Cc: Mark Watson; Paul Cotton; Mays, David; David Dorwin;
<public-html-media@w3.org>; Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org); Michael(tm)
Smith (mike@w3.org)
Subject: Re: Chromebook DRM specification

 

On Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 6:55 PM, Glenn Adams <glenn@skynav.com> wrote:

Why do I get the strong sense that you haven't tried doing any of these
things?

You are free to point out a specification that'd allow me to do so.

 

Also, why do you keep using the term "HTML-DRM" when you know very well that
there is no such a thing?

https://dvcs.w3.org/hg/html-media/raw-file/tip/encrypted-media/encrypted-med
ia.html
Received on Tuesday, 16 April 2013 17:32:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 15:48:35 UTC