W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > March 2011

Media Subteam Teleconference--Time of the Call

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Thu, 31 Mar 2011 14:26:41 -0400
To: HTML Accessibility Task Force <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
Message-ID: <20110331182641.GY2415@sonata.rednote.net>
Media Subteam Colleagues:

Please respond ...

I took on the task of updating us on the implications of moving our call
back by 30 minutes vs leaving it as is. Here's what I've found.

Much of the southern hemisphere (including Sydney) moves back to
standard time this coming weekend.

1.)	Option: Do nothing and leave our meeting pegged to 22:00 UTC (as
it currently is).

 3:00 PM	San Francisco -- U.S. Pacific (Daylight) Time	(UTC -7)
 6:00 PM	Boston -- U.S. Eastern (Daylight) Time		(UTC -4)
11:00 PM	London -- British (Summer) Time			(UTC +1)
08:00+1		Sydney -- Australian Eastern (Standard) Time	(UTC +10)

See all implications of leaving our meeting at 22:00 UTC via this URI:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=4&day=6&year=2011&hour=22&min=0&sec=0&p1=0

My Analysis: This is our best option. Silvia, will it work?

2.)	Option: Move our start time back by 30 minutes to 21:30 UTC.

 2:30 PM	San Francisco -- U.S. Pacific (Daylight) Time	(UTC -7)
 5:30 PM	Boston -- U.S. Eastern (Daylight) Time		(UTC -4)
10:30 PM	London -- British (Summer) Time			(UTC +1)
07:30+1		Sydney -- Australian Eastern (Standard) Time	(UTC +10)

See all implications of moving our meeting to 21:30 UTC via this URI:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?month=4&day=6&year=2011&hour=21&min=30&sec=0&p1=0

My Analysis: While attractive to those of us in the northern hemisphere,
I suspect this will not work for Silvia.

Suggestion: Stay at 22:00 UTC


-- 

Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.443.300.2200
		sip:janina@asterisk.rednote.net

Chair, Open Accessibility	janina@a11y.org	
Linux Foundation		http://a11y.org

Chair, Protocols & Formats
Web Accessibility Initiative	http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
World Wide Web Consortium (W3C)
Received on Thursday, 31 March 2011 18:27:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:55:53 UTC