W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > December 2015

Re: Fonts (was Re: follow up on service workers for publishing platform)

From: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
Date: Thu, 3 Dec 2015 09:37:46 +0100
Cc: "Levantovsky, Vladimir" <Vladimir.Levantovsky@monotype.com>, Tzviya Siegman <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>, Dave Cramer <Dave.Cramer@hbgusa.com>, W3C Digital Publishing IG <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, Chris Lilley <chris@w3.org>
Message-Id: <3617F451-46C3-4F96-88A3-CA8836053408@w3.org>
To: Leonard Rosenthol <lrosenth@adobe.com>
> 
> 
>> -	I believe that things like font obfuscation and encryption are definitely out of the scope for this group, in my opinion. DPUB will be using existing web technologies and can definitely influence the direction of their development if there is a new use case to consider, but unless it is justified by the use cases – I don’t see the need to even bring it up.
> 
> And here is where we disagree, related to my statement above (and in previous messages).
> 
> One of the key goals of PWP is to provide a solution that can serve both as an online and offline publication.  However, because of the current split between web and desktop (offline) fonts it is quite unclear how a PWP could address this today.  Going back to my point(s) about the need to discuss this further.
> 
> 

My reading of the thread so far is that the split between web and desktop fonts is not technical but legal. And we are concerned with technical issues in this IG and, actually (as Chris' historical overview shows), this is exactly where we should draw the line of scoping imho.

Ivan


----
Ivan Herman, W3C
Digital Publishing Lead
Home: http://www.w3.org/People/Ivan/
mobile: +31-641044153
ORCID ID: http://orcid.org/0000-0003-0782-2704





Received on Thursday, 3 December 2015 08:38:05 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:36:20 UTC