W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-credentials@w3.org > February 2022

Re: New Work Item Incubating for IETF: JSON Encoding for Post Quantum Signatures

From: Orie Steele <orie@transmute.industries>
Date: Tue, 1 Feb 2022 10:20:00 -0600
Message-ID: <CAN8C-_LXq3MyNnRrrtSRhUGAxSda_HW2xhyPO8CUS_-rq7ZrmQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: Mike Prorock <mprorock@mesur.io>
Cc: W3C Credentials CG <public-credentials@w3.org>, Chris Abernethy <cabernet@mesur.io>, Christine Cloostermans <christine.cloostermans@nxp.com>, David Balenson <david.balenson@sri.com>, Dieter Bong <dieter.bong@utimaco.com>, Joppe Bos <joppe.bos@nxp.com>, Michael Osborne <osb@zurich.ibm.com>, Rafael Misoczki <rafaelmisoczki@google.com>, "Arciszewski, Scott" <scottarc@amazon.com>, "John, Anil" <anil.john@hq.dhs.gov>
Thanks Mike!

I look forward to continuing to work on JSON encoding for post quantum
signature schemes.

In particular, support for JWS and JWK as building blocks for higher order
cryptographic systems, such as DIDs and VCs.

If you are interested in contributing, please feel free to open issues
here: https://github.com/mesur-io/post-quantum-signatures

Regards,

OS
ᐧ

On Tue, Feb 1, 2022 at 10:11 AM Mike Prorock <mprorock@mesur.io> wrote:

> Credentials Community,
> Based on the need for crypto-agility and the need to enable
> interoperability between solutions leveraging digital signatures to sign
> and verify data in a post quantum world, we have begun incubating a work
> item on the topic intended for development and hopeful standardization at
> IETF.  The group intends to cover serialization of signatures in JSON for
> at least Dilithium, Falcon, and SPHINCS+ in a manner that will enable usage
> of those signature schemes with JOSE, and with Verifiable Credentials
> and/or DIDs.
>
> Currently engaged with and committing to move this work forward are
> Google, IBM, NXP, Utimaco, mesur.io, and Transmute.  We also have support
> and interest from AWS in seeing any NIST Signatures fully supported for use
> with JSON.
>
> The initial draft is located here:
> https://mesur-io.github.io/post-quantum-signatures/draft-post-quantum-jose.html and
> active work is under way to describe Test Vectors, Falcon and SPHINCS+
>
> This work will build on the work related to expression of Quantum Safe
> Cryptographic Keys here:
> https://www.ietf.org/id/draft-uni-qsckeys-00.html
> and relates directly to expression of the signature schemes in
> consideration at NIST:
> https://csrc.nist.gov/projects/post-quantum-cryptography
>
> Thanks,
>
> Mike Prorock
> CTO, Founder
> https://mesur.io/
>
>

-- 
*ORIE STEELE*
Chief Technical Officer
www.transmute.industries

<https://www.transmute.industries>
Received on Tuesday, 1 February 2022 16:20:25 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:25:28 UTC