W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-credentials@w3.org > February 2022

New Work Item Incubating for IETF: JSON Encoding for Post Quantum Signatures

From: Mike Prorock <mprorock@mesur.io>
Date: Tue, 1 Feb 2022 11:11:08 -0500
Message-ID: <CAGJKSNQu-G0CmcPKOb_32npMmZSWX4MQdrZULuPs0aZ927sG7g@mail.gmail.com>
To: W3C Credentials CG <public-credentials@w3.org>
Cc: Orie <orie@transmute.industries>, Chris Abernethy <cabernet@mesur.io>, Christine Cloostermans <christine.cloostermans@nxp.com>, David Balenson <david.balenson@sri.com>, Dieter Bong <dieter.bong@utimaco.com>, Joppe Bos <joppe.bos@nxp.com>, Michael Osborne <osb@zurich.ibm.com>, Rafael Misoczki <rafaelmisoczki@google.com>, "Arciszewski, Scott" <scottarc@amazon.com>, "John, Anil" <anil.john@hq.dhs.gov>
Credentials Community,
Based on the need for crypto-agility and the need to enable
interoperability between solutions leveraging digital signatures to sign
and verify data in a post quantum world, we have begun incubating a work
item on the topic intended for development and hopeful standardization at
IETF.  The group intends to cover serialization of signatures in JSON for
at least Dilithium, Falcon, and SPHINCS+ in a manner that will enable usage
of those signature schemes with JOSE, and with Verifiable Credentials
and/or DIDs.

Currently engaged with and committing to move this work forward are Google,
IBM, NXP, Utimaco, mesur.io, and Transmute.  We also have support and
interest from AWS in seeing any NIST Signatures fully supported for use
with JSON.

The initial draft is located here:
https://mesur-io.github.io/post-quantum-signatures/draft-post-quantum-jose.html
and
active work is under way to describe Test Vectors, Falcon and SPHINCS+

This work will build on the work related to expression of Quantum Safe
Cryptographic Keys here:
https://www.ietf.org/id/draft-uni-qsckeys-00.html
and relates directly to expression of the signature schemes in
consideration at NIST:
https://csrc.nist.gov/projects/post-quantum-cryptography

Thanks,

Mike Prorock
CTO, Founder
https://mesur.io/
Received on Tuesday, 1 February 2022 16:12:32 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 20:25:28 UTC