W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-comments-wcag20@w3.org > June 2007

RE: W3C Process and WCAG 2.0 Public Working Draft 17/05/07

From: Ian B. Jacobs <ij@w3.org>
Date: Fri, 15 Jun 2007 14:55:19 +0000
To: William Loughborough <love26@gorge.net>
Cc: simon@cognable.com, lisa@ubaccess.com, j.chetwynd@btinternet.com, lorettaguarino@google.com, AndyHeath@axelrod.plus.com, a.k.heath@shu.ac.uk, gez.lemon@gmail.com, rscano@iwa-italy.org, gian@tkh.com.au, ajudson@computing.dundee.ac.uk, y.p.hoitink@heritas.nl, marc.walraven@ascii.be, info@inclusion-international.org, zoe@e-isotis.org, Andrew.Arch@visionaustralia.org, Sofia.Celic@visionaustralia.org, k.smith@bild.org.uk, peter.rainger@googlemail.com, erland.overby@hypatia.no, G.Freyhoff@inclusion-europe.org, accessibility@mencap.org.uk, Antonia.Hyde@unitedresponse-org.uk, Diane.Lightfoot@unitedresponse-org.uk, jo.kidd@skillnetgroup.co.uk, dan.edney@skillnetgroup.co.uk, info@unitedresponse.org.uk, liddy@sunriseresearch.org, andy.minnion@rixcentre.org, jim@glasgowwestend.co.uk, jim.byrne@gawds.org, mel.pedley@gawds.org, caroline.lambie@mencap.org.uk, info@inspiredservices.co.uk, info@ubisan.com, jn@cloudworld.co.uk, rhudson@usability.com.au, info@idlimited.co.uk, Zoe.Porter@dh.gsi.gov.uk, Sue.Carmichael@dh.gsi.gov.uk, info@ctad.co.uk, dsloan@computing.dundee.ac.uk, simon.cramp@mencap.org.uk, ann.fergusson@northampton.ac.uk, rbb10@cam.ac.uk, neel.shearer@education.ed.ac.uk, p.d.brown@dundee.ac.uk, jim@jibbering.com, helpdesk@techdis.ac.uk, katarina.muhlenbock@vgregion.se, coordina@sidar.org, emmanuelle@sidar.org, mats.lundalv@vgregion.se, sari@jason.org, sallyp@advisory-unit.org.uk, gv@trace.wisc.edu, cooper@w3.org, jbrewer@w3.org, public-comments-WCAG20@w3.org, timbl@w3.org, chaals@opera.com
Message-Id: <1181919319.5650.36.camel@localhost>
Hi all,

While I consider this topic important, I am not actively involved
in this discussion today and prefer that I be removed from future
posts. 

Best of luck,

 _ Ian

P.S. Hi Bill!!

On Fri, 2007-06-15 at 07:50 -0700, William Loughborough wrote:
> The facts as I've experienced them over 80 years is
> that the "excluded" 20% (a gross underestimate in my
> opinion) are in some "lower caste" in virtually all
> parts of the globe - much like certain cultures'
> "untouchables".
> 
> "Untouchable" but hopefully not "unreachable."
> 
> "They" (which will include most of "us" at some time
> if we live long enough!) are warehoused, experimented
> on, tortured, and abused in just about every way so
> allthough providing some measure of accessibility to
> Webstuff (while it seems like a minor gain compared
> to "gene pool purification") is of major importance.
> 
> Inclusion requires connection. 
> 
> The first step is towards "nothing about us without
> us." We must connect with the target audience else we
> will continue their exclusion.
> 
> And, no, I don't know where to start, but I bet Bro.
> Chetwynd and Ms. Seeman have some ideas? 
> 
> Love.
-- 
Ian Jacobs (ij@w3.org)   http://www.w3.org/People/Jacobs
Tel:                     +1 718 260-9447

Received on Friday, 15 June 2007 14:55:28 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:11:08 UTC