W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > January to March 2014

Re: UTF-8 in URIs

From: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>
Date: Sun, 19 Jan 2014 12:46:26 -0800
Message-ID: <CABkgnnUroMyhR_98k1HVTXTicKeTEx6fSABSpBx72W=RLEwBPA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Tim Bray <tbray@textuality.com>
Cc: Zhong Yu <zhong.j.yu@gmail.com>, Martin J. Dürst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>, Gabriel Montenegro <Gabriel.Montenegro@microsoft.com>, "ietf-http-wg@w3.org" <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>, Osama Mazahir <OSAMAM@microsoft.com>, Dave Thaler <dthaler@microsoft.com>, Mike Bishop <Michael.Bishop@microsoft.com>, Matthew Cox <macox@microsoft.com>
On 18 January 2014 09:34, Tim Bray <tbray@textuality.com> wrote:
> Without expressing an opinion on exactly what to say about URIs, I
> definitely think everything should be UTF-8 wherever possible, and note with
> pleasure that the Internet is moving steadily in that direction.

That's definitely the trend, and a good one.

If size is an issue, then that is a task for compression.  Not that
I'm recommending we customize hpack to account for this now - that
would be premature - but the option remains open.
Received on Sunday, 19 January 2014 20:46:53 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 17:14:23 UTC