W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > August 2007

Re: Forms Taskforce participation

From: Matthew Raymond <mattraymond@earthlink.net>
Date: Mon, 20 Aug 2007 21:50:07 -0400
Message-ID: <46CA44CF.6060401@earthlink.net>
To: Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
CC: "public-html@w3.org WG" <public-html@w3.org>

   I have some opinions on who should be on the Forms Task Force...

Anne van Kesteren: Very active in both W3C and WHATWG. Opera employee.
His selection would be a "no-brainer".

David McClure: He doesn't appear to be active in the mailing list.
Unless you find otherwise, I would suggest dropping him from the list of

Sander van Lambalgen: Not many messages from this fellow, but the few I
found were thoughtful and intellegent. I would welcome having him on the
task force.

Laurens Holst: WHATWG contributor, although that shouldn't be seen as
him always agreeing with WHATWG policy or specifications. Though I've
found myself on the opposite side of several debates with him on the
mailing list, he's never struck me as being disrespectful or irrational.

Darren West: Like David McClure, he appears to be MIA on the mailing
list. I recommend dropping him from consideration.

Maciej Stachowiak: WHATWG Member. Apple employee. On par with Anne and
Ian, if you ask me.

Matthew Raymond: I'll refrain from self-commentary. I'd like to hear
people's comments on this, actually.

Ian Hickson: Our editor, and probably the best we could have. Tends to
be somewhat opinionated, but he almost always has a well thought out
reason for any position he holds, and is always open to rational
arguments. He's also insanely well qualified. I'm confused as to whether
he needs to be in the Task Force. As editor, shouldn't he be part of the
Task Force separate from the three HTML WG members and three XForms WG

   At any rate, if he weren't editor, I'd call him an easy choice.

Josef Spillner: Seems pretty sharp, but doesn't seem very involved in
Forms-related discussion.

Dominik Tomaszuk: Another MIA. Drop him from the list.

Mikko Honkala: Only a few messages on the mailing list. Difficult to
gage interested or depth of knowledge.

Gregory Rosmaita: Very active in the mailing list. However, I question
the quality and tactfulness of many of his arguments. While he may have
some good ideas, I suspect his influence would be somewhat

John Boyer: He's the XForms WG chair, so he's probably going to be one
of the three in the Task Force from the XForms WG. Thus he does not need
to be included on the HTML WG side.

Maksym Saveliev: Couldn't find any messages from him on the mailing
list, but he may be to new to the Working Group to show up.

   So, here's my list of people who should actually be considered
(sorted by personal preference):

1) Ian Hickson (if necessary)
2) Anne van Kesteren
3) Maciej Stachowiak
4) Me
5) Laurens Holst
6) Sander van Lambalgen
7) Gregory Rosmaita

   Anyone else have any thoughts on this? Personally, I'd be happy with
having more members from both working groups. I don't think we should
have hundreds of people in the Task Force, but I don't see why a total
of...say...ten people would be a problem. I'm wondering if the small
size of the Task Force might limit its ability to come up with creative
solutions and effective compromises.
Received on Tuesday, 21 August 2007 01:51:02 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 29 October 2015 10:15:25 UTC