W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-tag@w3.org > December 2014

Re: Draft finding - "Transitioning the Web to HTTPS"

From: Noah Mendelsohn <nrm@arcanedomain.com>
Date: Tue, 09 Dec 2014 22:54:14 -0500
Message-ID: <5487C3E6.7030604@arcanedomain.com>
To: Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>
CC: Chris Palmer <palmer@google.com>, "www-tag@w3.org List" <www-tag@w3.org>
 From the start everyone has acknowledged formally and informally Tim's 
preference to delegate much but not all of his TAG chairing responsibility 
and authority to one or more other members of the TAG. These others have 
traditionally been treated as full chairs from a process point of view, 
participating in the chairs' mailing list, representing the TAG when chairs 
are required, reporting to the membership, etc.

The TAG's home page [1] somewhat amusingly describes the TAG as follows:

The TAG has 9 participants (5 elected, 3 appointed, and 1 chair) plus a 
staff contact:

     Tim Berners-Lee (W3C) (Chair)
     Daniel Appelquist (Telefónica) (Chair)1
     Domenic Denicola (Google)4
     David Herman (Mozilla Foundation)1
     Yehuda Katz (jQuery Foundation)2
     Sergey Konstantinov (Yandex)3
     Yves Lafon (W3C) (staff contact)
     Peter Linss (HP) (Chair)1
     Mark Nottingham (Akamai)4
     Jeni Tennison (ODI)2

So it includes one chair, but three chairs are named.

Everyone seems to have handled this without undue confusion for a long 
time. Resolving this seems to me desirable in principle, but in practice 
not the least bit urgent.

Former "chair" of the TAG

[1] http://www.w3.org/2001/tag/

On 12/9/2014 7:20 PM, Bjoern Hoehrmann wrote:
> * Mark Nottingham wrote:
>>> On 10 Dec 2014, at 10:53 am, Bjoern Hoehrmann <derhoermi@gmx.net> wrote:
>>> In any case, it should be clear that the Chair of the TAG very strongly disagrees.
>> Please disambiguate -- we have three.
> I used the term as per http://www.w3.org/2004/10/27-tag-charter.html,
> "The TAG consists of eight elected or appointed participants, and the
> Director, who is the Chair of the TAG."
Received on Wednesday, 10 December 2014 03:54:48 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:57:08 UTC