TAG election results and director's appointments

For those of you who don't follow the W3C news feed at www.w3.org [1]:

"The W3C Advisory Committee has elected Daniel Appelquist (Vodafone) and 
Henry Thompson (U. of Edinburgh) to the W3C Technical Architecture Group 
(TAG). The Director has appointed Ashok Malhotra (Oracle), Noah 
Mendelsohn, and Jonathan Rees. This outcome reflects the correct 
application of the tie-breaking algorithm."

I am delighted to welcome Daniel Appelquist as a new member of the TAG, 
and to welcome back returning members Ashok Malhotra, Jonathan Rees, and 
Henry Thompson.  I am also very grateful to Tim for giving me the 
opportunity to continue as co-chair. 

The TAG home page [2] summarizes the composition and terms of the incoming 

        The TAG has 9 members (5 elected, 3 appointed, and 1 chair)
        plus a staff contact:

           1. Tim Berners-Lee (W3C) (Chair)
           2. Dan Appelquist (Vodafone)2
           3. John Kemp (Nokia)1
           4. Ashok Malhotra (Oracle)3
           5. Larry Masinter (Adobe)1
           6. Noah Mendelsohn (IBM) (Chair)2
           7. Jonathan Rees (Creative Commons)2
           8. T. V. Raman (Google)1
           9. Henry Thompson (U. of Edinburgh)2

            * 1 Two-year term begins 1 Feb 2009
            * 2 Two-year term begins 1 Feb 2010
            * 3 One-year term begins 1 February 2010
            * Dan Connolly (W3C) is staff contact for the TAG.

BTW:  the obscure reference to "correct application of the tie-breaking 
algorithm" refers to the facts that 1) there was a tie in the number of 
votes for the 2nd elected seat and 2) there was some initial confusion 
about the correct application of the algorithm that, per W3C process, is 
used to break such ties. 

Thank you!


[1] http://www.w3.org/News/2010#entry-8694
[2] http://www.w3.org/2001/tag/

Noah Mendelsohn 
IBM Corporation
One Rogers Street
Cambridge, MA 02142

Received on Thursday, 14 January 2010 15:48:55 UTC