W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-multimodal@w3.org > September 2011

Response to EmotionML LCWD comment ISSUE-192: DateTime instead milliseconds in EmotionML timestamps

From: Marc Schroeder <marc.schroeder@dfki.de>
Date: Wed, 07 Sep 2011 14:27:14 +0200
Message-ID: <4E676322.1040603@dfki.de>
To: Gerhard Fobe <gerhard.fobe@s2009.tu-chemnitz.de>
CC: w3c-mmi-wg <w3c-mmi-wg@w3.org>, www-multimodal@w3.org

this is to reply to one of the comments on the EmotionML that you sent 
on 21 June [1], specifically:

ISSUE-192 Suggestion to use XML Schema's DateTime instead milliseconds 
in EmotionML timestamps

The group has discussed the issue and proposes the following solution:


The main reason for using the millisecond format is consistency with 
other specifications produced by the multimodal interaction working 
group, notably EMMA, which also uses the millisecond format to represent 
time [2]. While we acknowledge the limitation that you point out, namely 
that we cannot represent absolute times before 1970, we have to weigh 
the various pros and cons here, and the group consensus is to weigh 
consistency with EMMA higher than this use case.

Please let us know if you agree with this resolution within 14 days, 
i.e. by 20 September. Should we not hear from you by that date, we will 
consider this to represent implicit approval, but explicit feedback is 
always better.

Thanks and best regards,

[1] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-multimodal/2011Jun/0007.html
[2] http://www.w3.org/TR/emma/#s4.2.10.1

Dr. Marc Schröder, Senior Researcher at DFKI GmbH
Project leader for DFKI in SSPNet http://sspnet.eu
Team Leader DFKI TTS Group http://mary.dfki.de
Editor W3C EmotionML Working Draft http://www.w3.org/TR/emotionml/
Portal Editor http://emotion-research.net

Homepage: http://www.dfki.de/~schroed
Email: marc.schroeder@dfki.de
Phone: +49-681-85775-5303
Postal address: DFKI GmbH, Campus D3_2, Stuhlsatzenhausweg 3, D-66123 
Saarbrücken, Germany
Official DFKI coordinates:
Deutsches Forschungszentrum fuer Kuenstliche Intelligenz GmbH
Trippstadter Strasse 122, D-67663 Kaiserslautern, Germany
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Wolfgang Wahlster (Vorsitzender)
Dr. Walter Olthoff
Vorsitzender des Aufsichtsrats: Prof. Dr. h.c. Hans A. Aukes
Amtsgericht Kaiserslautern, HRB 2313
Received on Wednesday, 7 September 2011 12:27:54 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:42:43 UTC