W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > August 2008

Re: SQL based storage, was: [whatwg] Creative Commons Rights Expression Language

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Tue, 26 Aug 2008 10:02:57 +0000 (UTC)
To: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Cc: Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>, "Ralph R. Swick" <swick@w3.org>, "'Tab Atkins Jr.'" <jackalmage@gmail.com>, WHAT-WG <whatwg@whatwg.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>, Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, "Bonner, Matt" <matt.bonner@hp.com>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0808261002500.7044@hixie.dreamhostps.com>

On Tue, 26 Aug 2008, Julian Reschke wrote:
> 
> The trouble with "push the SQL database from the server to the client" 
> is that it requires all web applications that want to take advantage of 
> client-side storage to agree on a particular SQL version / subset / 
> implementation. It will be interesting to see how that works.

Indeed.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Tuesday, 26 August 2008 10:03:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:33:32 UTC