W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > August 2008

Re: [whatwg] Creative Commons Rights Expression Language

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Sun, 24 Aug 2008 18:22:51 +0200
Message-ID: <48B18ADB.7060407@gmx.de>
To: Ben Adida <ben@adida.net>
CC: Dan Brickley <danbri@danbri.org>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, "Bonner, Matt" <matt.bonner@hp.com>, "'Tab Atkins Jr.'" <jackalmage@gmail.com>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>, "Ralph R. Swick" <swick@w3.org>, Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>

Ben Adida wrote:
> ...
> I would love to see reactions from the HTML5 group that are a little
> more productive than "you don't really need what you think you need."
> ...

I agree that HTML5 should include a mechanism to embed RDF, be it by a 
generic extension mechanism, or by adding specific vocabulary (such as 
RDFa).

Note that the WG is indeed chartered to consider that topic:

"The HTML WG is encouraged to provide a mechanism to permit 
independently developed vocabularies such as Internationalization Tag 
Set (ITS), Ruby, and RDFa to be mixed into HTML documents. Whether this 
occurs through the extensibility mechanism of XML, whether it is also 
allowed in the classic HTML serialization, and whether it uses the DTD 
and Schema modularization techniques, is for the HTML WG to determine." 
-- <http://www.w3.org/2007/03/HTML-WG-charter.html>


Best regards, Julian (HTML5 WG member)
Received on Sunday, 24 August 2008 16:23:47 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 22:33:32 UTC