W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > October to December 2016

RE: DPUB Set of Web Pages

From: White, Jason J <jjwhite@ets.org>
Date: Wed, 23 Nov 2016 15:51:05 +0000
To: David MacDonald <david100@sympatico.ca>, Matt Garrish <matt.garrish@gmail.com>
CC: WCAG <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>, Katie Haritos-Shea GMAIL <ryladog@gmail.com>, Wilco Fiers <w.fiers@accessibility.nl>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "Charles LaPierre" <Charlesl@benetech.org>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>
Message-ID: <BY2PR0701MB1990BBBB8D51FC98E9253F50ABB70@BY2PR0701MB1990.namprd07.prod.outlook.com>


From: David MacDonald [mailto:david100@sympatico.ca]
Sent: Wednesday, November 23, 2016 10:33 AM

I think including a epub example in a set of web pages wouldn't preclude a more specific definition of epub at a later time, or even in a later version of WCAG ... on the other hand, maybe we could introduce a new term in 2.1 if we have it very soon.

[Jason] Has the Mobile Accessibility Task Force addressed this issue in any of its proposals? As I mentioned earlier in the thread, their challenge with mobile applications based on Web technologies raises the same difficulties for the definition of “Web page”.
It just seems to me that "a set of web pages" and inherent in that the "web page definition" of the base URL and associated assets, is a perfect short term definition that would accomplish what George mentioned about working epub into the web page framework so that the WCAG Success Criteria can explicitly apply to epub.
[Jason] Regrettably, I don’t understand the proposal here. What concrete change would you make to the definitions, if any? The application of the current “Web page” definition to compressed archives is, at best, ambiguous by my reading of it.


________________________________

This e-mail and any files transmitted with it may contain privileged or confidential information. It is solely for use by the individual for whom it is intended, even if addressed incorrectly. If you received this e-mail in error, please notify the sender; do not disclose, copy, distribute, or take any action in reliance on the contents of this information; and delete it from your system. Any other use of this e-mail is prohibited.


Thank you for your compliance.

________________________________
Received on Wednesday, 23 November 2016 15:51:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 21:08:07 UTC