W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > w3c-wai-gl@w3.org > April to June 2006

Technique Designations

From: ? <chris.ridpath@utoronto.ca>
Date: Fri, 5 May 2006 10:06:32 -0400
Message-ID: <06b201c6704d$1d118d00$e29a968e@WILDDOG>
To: "WCAG" <w3c-wai-gl@w3.org>

I've been reading the "understanding" and "technique" documents and think I 
get the technique designations.

As I understand it, there are 3 types of techniques:

1) Sufficient - Are the numbered techniques in the "techniques for 
addressing" section of each SC. If followed your content will meet SC. You 
may have to use more than one "sufficient" tech to meet SC. If not followed 
then you've got to use another technique (outside the listed techniques and 
not one of the "common failures") to meet SC.

2) Advisory - Do not fall under a SC but are assigned to a guideline. Not 
"required" or "sufficient". Affect accessibility. Not assigned a level.

3) Common Failures - If this technique is used then you do not meet the SC.

Required - I've seen the word "required" several times applied to the 
technique process but there are no techniques designated as "required".

I've also seen the word "necessary" (on the mailing list) applied to 
techniques. I think this is just an oversight as there don't seem to be any 
"necessary" techniques.

Does that look about right?

Received on Friday, 5 May 2006 14:07:10 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Thursday, 24 March 2022 21:07:45 UTC