W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > uri@w3.org > August 2013

Re: Standardizing on IDNA 2003 in the URL Standard

From: Gervase Markham <gerv@mozilla.org>
Date: Wed, 21 Aug 2013 17:54:12 +0100
Message-ID: <5214F0B4.9040309@mozilla.org>
To: Shawn Steele <Shawn.Steele@microsoft.com>
CC: "Jungshik SHIN (신정식)" <jshin1987@gmail.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>, "public-iri@w3.org" <public-iri@w3.org>, "uri@w3.org" <uri@w3.org>, "idna-update@alvestrand.no" <idna-update@alvestrand.no>, Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im>, Mark Davis ☕ <mark@macchiato.com>, Vint Cerf <vint@google.com>, "www-tag.w3.org" <www-tag@w3.org>, Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>
On 21/08/13 17:14, Shawn Steele wrote:
>> But I believe that it is. If there is a phishing problem in any
>> particular TLD due to this change, then I place the blame for that
>> squarely on the registry concerned.
> 
> Historically users blamed the browsers, not the registrars for things
> like the paypal-with-cyrillic-a homograph.

Historically, this is true. If it happens again, we plan to put up a
significantly more robust defence, based on a decade of experience since
then of what the problem is and who should be solving it.

Gerv
Received on Wednesday, 21 August 2013 16:54:44 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:25:16 UTC