W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > semantic-web@w3.org > October 2014

Re: scientific publishing process (was Re: Cost and access)

From: Peter F. Patel-Schneider <pfpschneider@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 06 Oct 2014 07:39:16 -0700
Message-ID: <5432A994.6040202@gmail.com>
To: Phillip Lord <phillip.lord@newcastle.ac.uk>, Luca Matteis <lmatteis@gmail.com>
CC: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Daniel Schwabe <dschwabe@inf.puc-rio.br>, W3C Semantic Web IG <semantic-web@w3.org>, W3C LOD Mailing List <public-lod@w3.org>, Eric Prud'hommeaux <eric@w3.org>, Bernadette Hyland <bhyland@3roundstones.com>
On 10/06/2014 04:27 AM, Phillip Lord wrote:

[On using htlatex for conferences.]

> So, as well as providing a LNCS stylesheet, we'd need a htlatex cf.cfg,
> and one CSS and it's done. Be good to have another CSS for on-screen
> viewing; LNCS's back of a postage stamp is very poor for that.
>
> Phil

I would be totally astonished if using htlatex as the main way to produce 
conference papers were as simple as this.

I just tried htlatex on my ISWC paper, and the result was, to put it mildly, 
horrible.  (One of my AAAI papers was about the same, the other one caused an 
undefined control sequence and only produced one page of output.)   Several 
parts of the paper were rendered in fixed-width fonts.  There was no attempt 
to limit line length.  Footnotes were in separate files.  Many non-scalable 
images were included, even for simple math.  My carefully designed layout for 
examples was modified in ways that made the examples harder to understand. 
The footnotes did not show up at all in the printed version.

That said, the result was better than I expected.  If someone upgrades htlatex 
to work well I'm quite willing to use it, but I expect that a lot of work is 
going to be needed.

peter
Received on Monday, 6 October 2014 14:39:49 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.4.0 : Friday, 17 January 2020 19:49:25 UTC